Ruth’s Promise

Ruth’s Promise
eBook: $0.99
Series: The Red Cedar Ranch Chronicles, Book 1
Genres: Clean Historical Romance, Historical Fiction, Western Romance
Format: ebook
Length: short story
Ruth and Garrett would give anything to rescue Garrett’s sister from her abusive marriage. But what will they do when it seems they’ll have to give everything—starting with their home? (Part 1)
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Book


Ruth Winslow has finally married off her three younger sisters: she’s free to find a husband of her own.

She wants a man with a good heart and a big dream. A man who will treat her as a true partner in marriage.

But all the men she’s met in Boston want a woman who’ll say yes, dear and not much else. So she registers to become a mail-order bride.


Kansas rancher Garrett Richards is damned if he does and damned if he doesn’t—his sister Elise married the bank’s loan officer so Garrett wouldn’t lose the family ranch. But Garrett suspects that Elise’s husband abuses her, even though Elise denies it.

Having failed to convince Elise to leave her husband, Garrett is struggling to make his late parents’ ranch profitable so he can pay off the mortgage. He believes that once Elise’s childhood home is safe, she’ll leave her miserable excuse for a husband.


When Garrett misses a payment, Elise’s husband gives him an ultimatum: pay up in three days or I’ll evict you and your new bride.

Garrett’s between a rock and a hard place, but now he’s got Ruth in his corner, and she’s about to come out swinging.

Can Ruth find a way to keep the ranch afloat and rescue her new sister-in-law from the biggest bully in town?

Warning: this book is part one of a four-part series, and it does contain a cliffhanger.

Ruth’s Promise is a clean, inspirational mail order bride romance. It’s the first book in the Red Cedar Ranch Chronicles, focusing on the struggles and triumphs of Ruth and Garrett Richards.

About the Author
Faith Parsons

Faith Parsons is a descendant of homesteaders who rode West in a covered wagon–first to settle in Missouri, and later in Idaho. When she’s not writing stories about the men and women who settled the American frontier, she enjoys baking and going for long walks with her husband.

Her heartwarming clean romance stories follow the lives of courageous men and their mail-order brides as they struggle to build new lives for themselves and their families on the western frontier.

Other Books in "The Red Cedar Ranch Chronicles"
Look Inside
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."